Smooth(ie) Operator

It happened.  I did it.  I went out and bought my very first, my very own…blender.  Hamilton Beach, two speed…the most glorious I’ve ever seen.

The thing I love about Blenders, especially this particular personal blender, is the opportunity for endless possibilities.  Like having a car means freedom, having a blender means flavor combinations.  It means smoothies.  It means homemade frappuccinos.  It means frozen alcoholic beverages.  It means…milkshakes.  Pause for a moment, close your eyes, imagine…taste that?  It’s excitement.
If you deem me overenthusiastic then I deem you no fun.
At one point in high school I got so obsessed with making smoothies I considered opening up my own smoothie shop called Smoothie Roo’s instead of going to college.  I guess I dodged a bullet there…though maybe not.  ANYWAYS-
Let me now share with you a few of my favorite blender staples:
1) Bananas
2) Pineapple
3) Frozen fruit: raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, and cherries
4) Soy Milk
5) Nonfat Vanilla Greek Yogurt
6) Vanilla & Chocolate Protein Powder (Preferably one that has low carbs and is infused with vitamins, I’d recommend Whey brand)
7) Fruit Juice: whatever you usually drink, but the best are orange or cranberry
8) Edy’s Slow Churn Ice Cream: when it comes to milkshakes, best for smoothies are basic flavors like Vanilla, Chocolate, or Strawberry
9) Sherbet
10) Iced Coffee: personally prepped (best option) or International Delights

Some of my favorite combos:
1) Breakfast of Champions Smoothie: 5 ice cubes, 1 banana, 2 cups soy milk, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/2 cup chilled coffee
2) Greek Retreat Smoothie: 1 cup greek yogurt, 1 cup frozen mixed fruits (strawberries, raspberries, & blueberries work best), 5 ice cubes, 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder, dash of sweetener
3) Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie: 1 cup frozen strawberries (fresh work too you’ll just have to use more ice), 2 cups vanilla soy milk, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 5 ice cubes OR 3/4 cup lowfat chocolate ice cream
4) Cherry Good Smoothie: 1 cup frozen cherries, 5 ice cubes, 1 cup sherbet (whatever your flavor preference) & a splash of orange or cranberry juice
5) Trouble in Paradise Smoothie: 1 1/2 cups pineapple, 5 ice cubes, 1/2 cup sherbet, 1/2 cup greek yogurt & a splash of orange or cranberry juice

Do you like my clever names?  I do.  I’ll be smiling to myself when I think about them for the next few days.  You shouldn’t feel sorry for me because I’m so pathetic because I’m quite proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

